Student Newsroom

The Student Newsroom immerses undergraduate and graduate college students in a digital media environment by providing hands-on experience during the three-day Online News Association Conference & Awards Banquet.

Supported for the fifth year by Google, 20 select students will produce content for the ONA14 website before and during the conference under the personal guidance of professional mentors.

Google's contribution helps make possible lodging and travel for Student Newsroom student participants.

Google’s contribution helps make possible lodging and travel for Student Newsroom student participants.

Students will also get the chance to attend ONA14 programming led by experts in digital journalism, network with attendees and acquire and flex new digital media skills. All expenses — lodging, travel and registration fees — are paid.

Eighteen Student Newsroom mentors with digital skills have an opportunity to guide one to two students before and during the conference, working one-on-one with them to help develop story ideas and advise coverage production. Mentors receive free conference registration. They also have a chance to pay it forward, shaping the skills of tomorrow’s leaders in digital journalism.

2014 Student Newsroom

Khorri Atkinson


York College, at the City University of New York

Jules Bonnard


Maegan Clawges


The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Alan Davis


University of Arizona

Stephanie Ebbs


University of Missouri – Columbia

Justin Galicz


University of Florida

Michael Geheren


DePaul University

Akash Ghai


Pennsylvania State University

Erica Hernandez


University of Florida

Reuben Jones


New York University

Beatrice Katcher


University of California, Berkeley

Hrisnathi Kroi


University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Evie Liu


University of Southern California

Kyle Plantz


Boston University

Antoinette Siu


Syracuse University — S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications

Abigail Smith


Lehigh University

Taylor Walker


Boston University

Molly Ward


Marymount Manhattan College

Quinn Western


California State University, Chico

Katie Yaeger


University of Missouri – Columbia


Michelle Johnson, Associate Professor of the Practice, Multimedia Journalism, Boston University, ONA14 Student Newsroom Co-Chair
Katia Hetter,Writer/Producer,, ONA14 Student Newsroom Co-Chair
David Barreda, Visuals Editor, ChinaFile
Jeremy Bowers, Interactive Developer, The New York Times
Curt Chandler, Senior Lecturer, Penn State University
Kim Fox, Associate Professor of Practice, The American University in Cairo
Joanna Hernandez, Director, Career Services, CUNY Graduate School of Journalism
Connor Jennings, Developer, The Washington Post
Melody Kramer, Digital Strategist/Editor,NPR
Marshall Latimore, Designer-Content Desk, Alabama Media Group
Bonnie Layton, Lecturer, Indiana University
Charles Minshew, Multimedia Artist, Orlando Sentinel
Shauna Rempel, Social Media Strategist,
Cindy E. Rodríguez, Senior Journalist-in-Residence, Emerson College
Sisi Wei, News Applications Developer, ProPublica
Ingrid Sturgis, Associate Professor, Howard University
Leezel Tanglao, Senior Multiplatform Editor, CNN Money
Jill Van Wyke, Assistant Professor, Drake University